The Great White Death ( the big ass snow storm)

Standard

Now that everyone is done freezing their asses off.  We’re on the other side of one of the coldest snow storms of us have seen in our life time.  This just confirms I don’t ever want to live in Alaska. =D    Great thing was we didn’t loos power once.   We were very very worried, we have a breaker that for some reason likes to pop every time it gets cold.  I guess it got so cold it couldn’t pop.    The girls did well.  My oldest is so sick of being home.  3 week winter break isn’t as fun as it seems.  Aryn has been doing very well all things considering.   She was pretty upset about having to miss speech therapy and day care.   She asked me today if we could take  a car ride.  Which we can’t.  We’re still snowed in.     My husband has been having to work from home.  His boss was able to get him today and hopefully they will return with a snow blower.   Since i had surgery the day after x-mas I can’t shovel snow.   And trust me it kills me to have to send my husband and my oldest out into the cold to work on the 2 plus feet of snow that has collected around the house.

Her Nero appointment was pushed back to the 15th.   This is really the final step in getting her a formal diagnoses.  Once we have that we can move forward with Pre K and kindergarten with the right plans in place to help her succeed.  504’s and IEP’s are critical for success with any kid of learning disability.  My oldest had one in the very early years of her education.   While it might not be the case for everyone.  It allowed her the time to catch up on the things she was behind in.  Now she’s able to attend school without one.   When she does have issues she is able to asked the teacher for what she needs.   She still have some issues with test taking and her teachers have been wonderful about giving her a quiet place alone to work on a test when she needs to.  She’s learning to deal with her ADHD in the real world.   I don’t know what the future holds for Aryn.  But I will do my best to provide her with everything she needs to do her best in what ever she decides.

Leave a Reply

