Pre K is just around the corner.

Standard

 

I was finally able to make it down to  the school district  this week.    And as much as this school district makes me want to tear my hair out, I have to give credit where credit is due.  I was able to speak with the resource director, and she even push back an appointment to speak to me.  Which impressed me quiet a bit.   We sat and talked and I explained Aryn’s situation and how I felt that she wouldn’t be ready to go into a normal Pre K classroom.   After filling out an assessment with her, it was decided that we’d go  with developmental delays.    The speech delay she has will more then likely be enough to get her into the special needs preschool.   But the director felt that going with a developmental delay DX would work out in her favor and grant her access to all the services the district has.

I know once they reach school age the schools are suppose to take over the therapies.   But in Aryn’s case I feel as long as our insurance pays for it, she’d be better over sticking with The therapist she has now.    I have a feeling I might have to fight with them on this.   I don’t want the progress she has made with Dana go down the drain because of Speech therapy  done by the school.  But I suppose that is a bridge we’ll cross when we get to it.   In a few weeks we’ll begin the process of  all the evals with the school district to see where she is at and what services the district wants to provide her.   It’s kind of scary to think she’ll be in Pre K next year.   But at least now I feel like she’ll be able to attend school and still have her needs met.

Her nero appointment is Wednesday, I hope and pray the doctor will be able to give her a DX once and for all.   So we can move forward in the best way possible for her.     I hope the new year is treating everyone well.

Leave a Reply

