Neuro.. When momma looses her mind.

Standard

 

We met with the neurologist.   And it went just as I expected.  We talked about everything that happen during the pregnancy and up to where we are today.  She like ever other one of her docs said the same thing.  ” this is not autism… But there is definitely something going on.”    We lucked out, because the weather has been so bad this week, They had openings to start testing right away.  Great, this will force a melt down.   And I mean that in the most sincer form.   I never really want Aryn to have a melt down. But there are times where having the doc see what it looks like is a good thing.   We explained to Aryn what was going she got her sticker and we went home.

The next day we headed back to the office.   The testing is suppose to take about 2 hours.  So I brought along my lab top, figuring I could get some work done.   I joked to the tester that  because I brought it, Aryn would need me there.   But honestly I figured because she is so used to doing these kind of things, between speech and behavioral therapy she’d be okay.  And for the first hour or so she was.   The tester commented on how hard she was trying and she really was focused most of the time.   Till it came to the faces.  She was done she wanted to stamp, she wanted to do anything that would get her away from those faces.   The tester brought her out to me, telling me that she was gonna let Aryn play for 15 mins or so and we’d try again.   I snicker a little bit, I think the break was more for her then it was for Aryn.  When she came back she asked that I come back with them to help finish the test.   Aryn was pretty tired of it, and it was unbelievably hot in the room.  So I stripped Aryn down to her top.   Sounds silly but when your have a kid with Sensory Issues, being to hot is like having a body part cut off.

For the most part  with my help we were able to get through a few more test.   They asked her to draw…. ever look at you kid and go you little stinker… that was me.  Lil momma can draw.  she was able to copy all the shape and shape combinations other then the very complicated shapes.  Totally normal for her age.  Aryn doesn’t draw much at home.   I’ll be working with her more at home.   And we both noticed that while she can pick out similar objects she can’t determine size.  Don’t know what that means. But it’ll be interesting to find out.  she has very good  eye sight so I know it’s not that.  Then we came back to the faces.  Aryn simply refused to do it.  she fussed and whined till we had to stop for the day.   They happen to have another 2 hour opening and asked that we returned the next day.

Back to the doctor.  Can I tell you how much I dreaded having to drive back there. I’d had spend the whole week driving to some kind of doctors appointment each day.  Meaning lots of Burger king and McDs breakfasts for us.  Since we didn’t have time any one of these mornings to eat a real breakfast.  Yucky!   We made it back over and surprisingly Aryn didn’t freak out as soon as we got there.  Which I fully expected.   Her tester came and got us and we started round two.  The tester tried to start again with the expression recognition.  To which Aryn reacted the same way.  simple refusal to do so.   Anything that required recognition of expression or emotion was met with steadfast refusal.   And lucky us a temper tantrum that lasted just short of an hour.  Knowing it was a temper tantrum as much as I got kicked and she screamed in my ear.  It was important that she understand this wasn’t going away.   Especially since it was Friday and we just couldn’t come back the next day.  Couldn’t let her think she had won.  Eventally we got her calmed down enough to continue.   And with the removal of  the faces she did beautifully.   I am pretty sure I lost my voice at some point from saying “YAY”  and fist bumps and high fives.   But re enforcing  her efforts was more important.   We tried the faces one more time and it just wasn’t gonna happen.

The good thing.. it’s done.. the bad thing..  They have to count the whole face portion as wrong.      She did note that Aryn didn’t do it.  But it might mess up the scores.  Hopefully not to much that we can’t get a clear view of what is going on with her.   I’m just glad it’s over.  I don’t think either one of our butts left the couch when we got home on Friday.  And I owe one little girl her mickey mouse pan cakes she’s been asking for all week.   We’ll go back in February to do some observation and go over the results of all the testing.  At least I know that she’ll be okay with that.    Nice to know we’re closer to an answer.

Leave a Reply

